You can enable or disable candidate options for a specific test. Candidate options consist of the following:
- Show head and tail code stubs to candidates: This option allows candidates to see the head and the tail code stub. If this option is disabled, then the head and tail code stubs are not visible to candidates.
- Allow custom test cases: When enabled, this option allows candidates to enter custom test cases manually to test their code. If this option is disabled, then candidates cannot use their custom test cases to test the code. This restricts candidates to use only sample test cases for testing their code.
You should only disable this option if you do not have any test cases in the test.
- Allow candidates to run and test code before submitting: When this option is enabled, candidates can run their code and see if their code satisfies the sample test cases. If this option is disabled, then candidates cannot test their code before submission.
- Show status of hidden test cases (after all sample test cases pass): If this option is enabled, then candidates receive test case feedback from all non-sample test cases. Otherwise, they only see the results of sample test cases.
Example: You have 8 hidden test cases and 2 sample test cases for a particular question on a test. You have enabled this option. If a candidate's code passes both sample test cases, then the candidate can also view the status of the other 8 hidden test cases. However, if you have disabled this option, then the candidate can only see if the sample test cases satisfy the code. No further information on 8 hidden test cases is shared with the candidate even if the code satisfies 2 sample test cases.
- You must be logged in to your HackerRank for Work account.
- You must have created a test.
- Click the Tests tab on the home page and then click the required test.
- Click Advanced Settings in the left navigation pane.
- Click Programming Question Settings on the displayed page to expand the section.
- In the Candidate Options area, select or clear the check boxes for different options, as required.
By default, all these options are enabled. It is recommended that you do not disable these options unless specifically required.
- Click Save.